Skip to main content
Banner Image

What's new at the Athens State University Library: Welcome

New books, services and features at the ASU Library

Hello and Welcome

 
Welcome to the Athens State University Library.  We trust that
you will benefit from the resources and professional expertise
available. The library houses approximately 100,000 volumes
in subjects supporting our curriculum.  Thanks to the Alabama
Virtual Library and to the Network of Alabama Academic
Libraries, the library offers a wealth of online databases as
well.

We have a very qualified staff that excels in meeting the
research needs of our faculty, staff, students and community
residents.  Our primary goal is to provide the patrons with
the best possible assistance.  Please let us know if we can be of
service to you.

Library and Writing Center Hours of Operation

Library Hours
The Library operating hours are as follows, but hours may vary
between semesters.

Monday - Thursday
8:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Saturday
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Sunday
CLOSED
 
Writing Center - Summer 2015 starting July 1st:

Monday 10:00-4:00, 6-8

Tuesday 10:00-4:00, 6-8

Wednesday 10:30-11:30; 12:30-5:30

Thursday 10:00-8:00

Database Title Change

The database Business & Company Resource Center has changed its name to Business Insights: Essentials.

The ASU Library

 

ASU Library 

EBSCO Discovery Service

 

EBSCO Discovery Service provides users with an easy, yet powerful means of accessing all of an institution's information resources through a single search. This is achieved by harvesting metadata from both internal (library) and external (database vendors) sources, and creating a pre-indexed service of unprecedented size and speed. Although the resulting collection can be massive in size and scope, the fact that it is indexed locally (on the EBSCOhost® servers) allows for exceptionally fast search response times. As no two institutions are the same, EBSCO Discovery Service offers a vast array of customization options with regard to both the underlying collection of metadata as well as the front-end delivery of search results. All of this functionality is based upon the powerful EBSCOhost search experience familiar to researchers worldwide.

Other LibGuides

The link below will take you to an alphabetized list of all the ASU Libguides that are currently online.

We have guides available in several areas of interest, including: Art, Business, Book Discussion Groups, and Education.

Community/Public Use

The Athens State University Library's collections and services are primarily intented to support the research and and classroom needs of ASU students and faculty.  However, anyone is welcome to come into the library and use its resources and services on the premises.

Teachers from Athens city and Limestone county schools are eligible to apply for free library
cards.

Community patrons or high school users are charged $20.00 for a two-year card.
Library card applications for patrons under 18 years of age must be signed by a parent or
legal guardian.

  ASU Writing Center

Have questions about writing your paper?  How about citation help?  Well the ASU Writing Center, located in Rm 121 of the Library, is here to help.  You can call them at 256-216-6665.  Contact the center to find out their hours of operation.  Click here to schedule an appointment http://athens.mywconline.com/index.php .

 

Friends of the Library

The Friends of the Athens State University Library (FASUL) is a group of supporters of the ASU Library.  It meets bi-monthly throughout the year to plan events that promote and raise funds for the Library.  FASUL efforts in recent years brought acclaimed authors Rick Bragg and Nanci Kincaid to Athens for book readings.  The Friends group also assists the Library in the annual book sale during the Fiddlers Convention. For details on how you can be a part of this exciting group, contact guy.mcclure@athens.edu .