HY 451: Senior History Seminar

Selected documents in law, history, economics, politics, government, and diplomacy from Ancient times to the 21st Century from Yale Law School.

This guide provides definition and examples of primary resources as well as helpful tips on how to evaluate primary resources found on the web.

Books and Periodicals from 19th century (primarily the second half) in full-text.

Western Europe Primary Historical Documents

Provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from NYPL collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Collection of primary resources in text, image, and audio about the experiences of ordinary Americans throughout U.S. History.

Primary source materials about the South including books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral interviews, and songs.

Collection of historical documents from the National Archive of the United States.

Established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara and contains 90,701 documents related to the study of the Presidency.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Scanned Periodicals from 18th century to present, on variety of topics from African American History, to Women's History, to War History.

Books and Periodicals from 19th century (primarily the second half) in full-text.

Books, Manuscripts, and other documents regarding women's impact on the economic life in the U. S. between 1800 and the Great Depression. Issues included are working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues.

Includes historical maps of Europe, the United States, and other countries.

Covers mainly North and South America from the 1700s to the 1950s. Includes some European maps.

Includes manuscripts and published maps showing the European Age of Discoveries, dating from the late 15th to the 17th century as well as 18th and 19th century maps documenting the exploration and mapping of the interior parts of the continents, including Lewis and Clark expeditions and subsequent government explorations.