Universities Studying Slavery Resources

This page serves as a living bibliography for the Universities Studying Slavery Resources Research Guide. More resources will be added to this page as research continues into the history of Athens State University, and the legacy created by the institution's relationship with the practice of chattel slavery.

 

In an attempt to render the Biographical Sketches more readable, a limited in-text citation format was followed, with minimal footnotes at the bottom of each sketch. For those researchers who wish to see each source consulted by the University Archives during the creation of this guide, those citations can be found on this page.

 

Each tabbed section of content has a corresponding box on this page. In that box you can find notes and when available, links to material used in or referenced by this guide. Census and Slave Indexes have been separated and alphabetized by township as applicable.

 

If you have questions about any of the content in this guide, please contact the University Archives.

-"An act to incorporate the trustees of Athens Female Academy, in Limestone County." (1822). Acts Raised at the Fourth Annual Session of the General Assembly of the State of Alabama, begun and held at the town of Cahawba, on the third Monday of November, one thousand eight hundred and twenty two. Israel Pickens, Governor, Nicholas Davis, President of the senate, and Arthur P. Bagby, Speaker of the House of Representatives. 1823; 1951, Statute law Book Co, Washington DC. Pages 122-123. View the Acts

-Busick, S., Fritze, R., Love, S. "A Presidential Legacy: The Inauguration of Dr. Robert Kyle Glenn, 36th President, Athens State University, May 5, 2009."  Brochure. History Brochure Committee. University Archives. Athens State University.

-Butler, Jerry. TNGenWeb Cemetery Database. View cemetery record

-Castor,  C. F.  “Rev. William Duncan,” FindAGrave.com, February 18, 2008, https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/24739934/william-duncan.  

-Creator D. P. Bestor (Daniel Perrin), “Bill of Sale,” Enslaved People in the Southeast. Database created by Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL). Accessed June 28, 2022. View document online

-Finley, I.R. (1863). The Lord Reigneth: A Sermon preached in Lloyd's church, Sussex county, Va., Sunday, August 16, 1863. Richmond: Soldiers' Tract Association Methodist Episcopal Church South. Boston Athenaeum, Digital Collections: Confederate Imprints.  View book in Boston Athenaeum Digital Collections

-Hobbs, T. H. and Axford, F. A. (1976) The Journals of Thomas Hubbard Hobbs: a contemporary record of an aristocrat from Athens, Alabama, written between 1840, when the diarist was fourteen years old, and 1862, when he died serving the Confederate States of America. University of Alabama Press. View in Kares Library catalog.

-"Hubbard Lot". Cemetery Records Scrapbook.. View record

-McLin, E.B. (1991). Athens State College: A Definitive History 1821-1991. Huntsville: Crawford and Hicklin Printing Co. View book in Kares Library catalog

-McLin, E.B. (1992)  Madame Childs: The Lady and The Legend. Nasvhille: Rand-McNally. View book in Kares Library catalog

-McLin, Elva Bell (1989). Madame Childs: Of Precious Memory. View book in Kares Library catalog

-McLin, E.B. (1994) The History of Athens State College 1821-1994. Revised Edition. Nashville: Rand-McNally. View in Kares Library catalog

-"Mammy Childs' Memories of the College". Oracle 1913, Yearbook Collection, 06 June 2024. University Archives, Athens State University, Athens, AL. VIew online in University Archive digital collection

-Mississippi Comprising Sketches of Counties, Towns, Events, Institutions, and Persons, Arranged in Cyclopedic Form ed. Dunbar Rowland, Vol. III Contemporary Biography, (Spartanburg, SC: the Reprint Company, Publishers, 1976): 218.

-Moore, Smith William. (1851) "The Exceeding Sinfulness of Sin." The Southern Methodist Pulpit. Vol 4, No. 8. Marshall Digital Scholar, Marshall University. View published text here from Hathitrust and Marshall University

-Moore, M.N. (1916) History of Athens College. Birmingham: Press of the American Publishing Company.

-Photo of William Duncan. William Henry McRaven papers,  Tennessee State Library and Archives. 

-Rivers, R.H. (1859). Elements of Moral Philosophy. Southern Methodist Publishing House. Nashville, TN. Link to book via Google Books.

-Strong, J. and McClintock, J. (1880) " Moore, Smith William, Dd." The Cyclopedia of Biblical, Theological, and Ecclesiastical Literature. Haper and Brothers; NY; 1880. Website. Source: McClintock and Strong Cyclopedia book module from SwordSearcher. 2024 StudyLamp Software LLC.  View Strong and McClintock's Cyclopedia Online

-Tise, L.E. (1987) Proslavery: A History of the Defense of Slavery in America, 1701-1840. Athens, University of Georgia Press.View in Kares Library catalog.

-Stapleton, Robert."Lucy Jane Bondurant...her husband James King Armstrong" . Robert Stapleton's Family Photo Gallery. View original photo here

-West, A. (1893) A History of Methodism in Alabama. Nashville: Barbee and Smith, Methodist Episcopal Church South View book in Kares Library catalog.

 -Yalobusha Baptist Association Minutes, 1840s. MSGenWeb. Yalobusha County MSGenWeb History : YBA Minutes : 1840s. Retrieved June 22, 2022. View minutes online

 -Athens Township. The National Archive in Washington Dc; Washington, DC; NARA Microform Publication: M432; Title: Seventh Census of the United States, 1850; Record Group: Records of the Bureau of the Census; Record Group Number: 29 View Census and Slave Schedule for BH Hubbard

-Clark County, MS: The National Archives in Washington, DC; Washington, DC, USA; Eighth Census of the United States 1860; Series Number: M653; Record Group: Records of the Bureau of the Census; Record Group Number: 29 View Census Records and Slave Schedule for DP Bestor

 -Huntsville Township. The National Archive in Washington Dc; Washington, DC; NARA Microform Publication: M432; Title: Seventh Census of the United States, 1850; Record Group: Records of the Bureau of the Census; Record Group Number: 29 View Census and Slave Schedule for JH Childs

 -St. Michael and St.Phillip Township, Charleston Sc. The National Archive in Washington Dc; Washington, DC; NARA Microform Publication: M432; Title: Seventh Census of the United States, 1850; Record Group: Records of the Bureau of the Census; Record Group Number: 29 View Census and Slave Schedule for JH Childs

-Gainsville Township. The National Archive in Washington Dc; Washington, DC; NARA Microform Publication: M432; Title: Seventh Census of the United States, 1850; Record Group: Records of the Bureau of the Census; Record Group Number: 29 View Census and Slave Schedule for DP Bestor

-Nelson, KY, District 2. The National Archive in Washington Dc; Washington, DC; NARA Microform Publication: M432; Title: Seventh Census of the United States, 1850; Record Group: Records of the Bureau of the Census; Record Group Number: 29 View Census and Slave Schedule for IR Finley

-Marion, Perry County Alabama: The National Archives in Washington, DC; Washington, DC, USA; Eighth Census of the United States 1860; Series Number: M653; Record Group: Records of the Bureau of the Census; Record Group Number: 29 View Census and Slave Schedule for JK Armstrong