Archives Equity Initiative

Welcome to the Archives Equity Initiative (AEI) research guide. This guide is designed to ardently investigate, respectfully share, and ultimately address discriminatory or oppressive materials found within the University Archives.¹

This guide also serves as a space for analyzing and repairing harmful practices the Archives may have taken in the past.²

In doing so, we promote richer, more just university and community histories.³ 

1. Cotton, D. and Smith, L. (April 2019) "Developing Methods to Address Systemic Collection Bias". 2018 Society of American Archivists Research Forum Lightning Talk. Published by Society of American Archivists, April 2019. Read Cotton and Smith's research here.

2. Ibid.

3. Ibid.

This project helps the University Archives support the SAA Core Value of Diversity. SAA asserts that,  "Archivists collectively seek to document and preserve the record of the broadest possible range of individuals, communities, governance, and organizations. Archivists respectfully work to build and promote archival collections that document a multiplicity of viewpoints on social, political, and intellectual issues.  

Within our organizations: Archivists must embrace the importance of identifying, preserving, and working with communities to actively document those whose voices have been underrepresented or marginalized. It is critical to forge connections with under-documented communities and individuals, support preservation of records relating to those communities’ activities, encourage use of archival research sources, and support the formation of community-based archives. Building collections that reflect the diversity of humanity is key to preserving a historical record that encompasses the stories of all peoples, instead of just those who wield enough power and influence to ensure their lives are documented...."

This project helps the University Archives support the mission of the American Library Association, which includes the Strategic Priority of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion. The ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services (ODLOS)  supports library and information science workers in creating safe, responsible, and all-inclusive spaces that serve and represent the entire community. ODLOS employs a social justice framework to inform library and information science workers' development of resources.

ALA's ODLOS considers it a professional responsibility to serve and support the following individuals and groups:

-Historically disadvantaged racial and ethic groups

-Those discriminated against based on gender or sexual identities and expressions, nationalities, or languages

-Those from protected classes, including age, religion, and disability status

-Those who experience socioeconomic barriers, hunger, homelessness and poverty

-People geographically isolated

-Immigrants, refugees, and new Americans

-New and non-readers

The University Archives' Archive Equity Initiative works towards the ACRL's Code of Ethics for Special Collections Librarians in that “Special collections practitioners create publicly available and clear collection development policies that are sensitive to and begin to address historical gaps based on 5 intersections of identity. When making selection decisions, practitioners take into account the level of resources available to process, describe, preserve, maintain, and make materials available, as well as whether other institutions may be a better fit for a particular collection. Practitioners avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance thereof, both in their institutional role and in any personal collecting.”

-ACRL Code of Ethics for Special Collection Librarians, revision approved June 19, 2020.

The University Archives Archive Equity Initiative works towards the National Education Association's Standards of Professional Excellence, Just and Equitable Schools by "engaging educators, students, co-conspirators and allies to foster real dialogue, examine policies and practices, and mobilize and take action."