Today's Hours |
Seminal works are well-known and/or influential books on a subject. Below you'll find examples of a few seminal works about nursing available through Kares Library.
Dorothea Orem: Self-Care Deficit Theory by
Encapsulating the work of one of the classic nursing theorists, Dorothea Orem, this booklet provides a unique, easily understood overview of Orem′s theory. The origin of her theory is presented, assumptions underlying the theory expounded, and the major concepts and propositions explained. By including excellent examples and a glossary of important terms, the author helps the reader make the transition from theory to practice. Dorothea Orem will be extremely useful to undergraduate students and nursing professionals. About the series: "Designed to provide a concise description of the conceptual frameworks and theories in nursing which have emerged in the last quarter century. Though short and succinct, they provide a useful overall view for those studying or actively involved in nursing as well as for those interested in the profession and its development . . . . A highly recommended series." --Journal of the Institute of Health Education "Slim, yet a wealth of information is contained within their pages. The most difficult of issues is articulated in a manner which enlightens rather than clouds understanding. King′s model is notoriously difficult to explain to beginners, but Evans does so magnificently." --Nursing Times
Contemporary Nursing Knowledge: Analysis and Evaluation of Nursing Models and Theories by
2005 AJN Book of the Year Award Winner What do nurses do? What is nursing? How do you define it? This updated text provides conceptual models and theories to use as guidelines in answering those burning questions for future nurse educators, nurse researchers, nurse administrators, and/or practicing nurses. Included in the text is the most current bibliography of published literature on conceptual models and theories -- with yearly updates available on the web.
Imogene King: A Conceptual Framework for Nursing by
Ideally suited for course use, Evans does a wonderful job of succinctly summarizing Imogene King′s theory. She begins with the origin of the theory, underlying assumptions, the major concepts of the meta-paradigm of nursing, the propositions of the conceptual model, and examples for application to practice and research. The emphasis on client participation and mutual goal setting provides an interactive framework for nurses. King′s theory serves as a guide for nursing education, research, and practice, making this booklet essential for undergraduate students and professionals in the field of nursing and allied health. About the series: "Designed to provide a concise description of the conceptual frameworks and theories in nursing which have emerged in the last quarter century. Though short and succinct, they provide a useful overall view for those studying or actively involved in nursing as well as for those interested in the profession and its development. . . . A highly recommended series." --Journal of the Institute of Health Education "Slim, yet a wealth of information is contained within their pages. The most difficult of issues is articulated in a manner which enlightens rahter than clouds understanding. King′s model is notoriously difficult to explain to beginners, but Evans does so magnificently." --Nursing Times
Interpersonal Relations in Nursing : A Conceptual Frame of Reference for Psychodynamic Nursing by 
Leininger's Culture Care Diversity and Universality by
Leininger's Culture Care Diversity and Universality, Third Edition presents an expanded view of the Culture Care Theory as well as integral components of the Ethno-nursing Research Method. The use of the CCT with new research methodologies such as meta-ethno-nursing as well as other established qualitative methods is also covered. Important Notice: The digital edition of this book is missing some of the images or content found in the physical edition.
Notes on Nightingale by
Florence Nightingale remains an inspiration to nurses around the world for her pioneering work treating wounded British soldiers during the Crimean War; authorship of Notes on Nursing, the foundational text for nursing practice; establishment of the world's first nursing school; and advocacy for the hygienic treatment of patients and sanitary design of hospitals. In Notes on Nightingale, nursing historians and scholars offer their valuable reflections on Nightingale and analysis of her role in the profession a century after her death on 13 August 1910 and 150 years since the Nightingale School of Nursing (now the Florence Nightingale School of Nursing and Midwifery at King's College, London) opened its doors to probationers at St Thomas' Hospital. There is a great deal of controversy about Nightingale?opinions about her life and work range from blind worship to blanket denunciation. The question of Nightingale and her place in nursing history and in contemporary nursing discourse is a topic of continuing interest for nursing students, teachers, and professional associations. This book offers new scholarship on Nightingale's work in the Crimea and the British colonies and her connection to the emerging science of statistics, as well as valuable reevaluations of her evolving legacy and the surrounding myths, symbolism, and misconceptions. Contributors: Judith Godden, University of Sydney; Carol Helmstadter, RN (Toronto); Joan E. Lynaugh, University of Pennsylvania; M. Eileen Magnello, University College London; Lynn McDonald, University of Guelph; Sioban Nelson, University of Toronto; Anne Marie Rafferty, King's College, London; Rachel Verney, Florence Nightingale School of Nursing and Midwifery (Visiting Associate, August 2009); Rosemary Wall, King's College, London
Notes on Nursing - What It Is, and What It Is Not by
Florence Nightingale (1820-1910) was an English social reformer, statistician, and pioneer of modern nursing. She became famous during the time she served as manager and trainer of nurses during the Crimean War, giving nursing a positive reputation and becoming a Victorian culture icon. Also known as The Lady with the Lamp, she was an accomplished writer who produced work related to medical knowledge. Nightingale's 1859 work "Notes on Nursing - What It Is, and What It Is Not" represented the fundaments of the curriculum at the Nightingale School and other nursing schools, despite originally devised as a guide for home nursing. It includes every day sanitary knowledge, covering such topics as taking food and what kinds of food, bed and bedding, light, cleanliness of rooms, personal cleanliness, etc. Contents include: "Ventilation And Warming", "Health Of Houses", "Petty Management", "Noise", "Variety", etc. Other notable works by this author include: Florence Nightingale to Her Nurses (1914), Suggestions for Thought (1860), and Una and the Lion (1871). Read & Co. are republishing this volume now in a modern edition complete with an introductory from "Beneath the Banner, Being Narratives of Noble Lives and Brave Deeds" by F. J. Cross.
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
Find the thinking of 39 leading nursing theorists in one comprehensive text! Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 10th Edition provides a clear, in-depth look at nursing theories of historical and international significance. Each chapter presents a key nursing theory or philosophy, showing how systematic theoretical evidence can enhance decision making, professionalism, and quality of care. Lead author Martha Raile Alligood is known nationally and internationally for her expertise in nursing theory. A classic in the field of nursing theory, this text uses objective critiques, case studies, and critical thinking activities to bridge the gap between nursing theory and application. Scholars specializing in the work of a specific nursing theorist write each theorist chapter, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information. Case studies at the end of each theorist chapter put the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical thinking activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you understand the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical situations. Diagrams and graphics help you to visualize and better understand abstract concepts and theories. History of nursing theory development includes its significance to the discipline and practice of the nursing profession. Brief summary sections in theorist chapters enhance comprehension and make it easier to review for tests. Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines a theory's most significant ideas and clarifies vocabulary. Points for Further Study section at the end of each chapter indicates sources of additional information. References at the end of theorist chapters list the author's primary and secondary sources of information. NEW theorists, chapter authors, and case studies provide research and expertise from countries across the world. NEW references and bibliographies demonstrate the ever-increasing use of nursing theory globally.
