Today's Hours |
Reference sources can provide you with background information on a topic along with specific facts. Kares Library provides various types of reference sources for your use. Below you'll find a non-comprehensive list of reference sources on nursing and medicine available through Kares Library.
Guides & Handbooks
Gray's Basic Anatomy by
Developed in response to student and faculty feedback worldwide, Gray's Basic Anatomy is a concise, easy-to-read text known for its utility and clarity, relevant and accurate content, strong clinical focus, and interactive online features. Perfect for readers who need an efficient, high-yield anatomy text, the fully updated 3rd Edition covers the key anatomical concepts that students need to know, all superbly illustrated with full-color artwork. Using a progressive and accessible approach, it provides a practical foundation of anatomical knowledge in a time-saving, highly understandable manner. Offers readable, concise and complete anatomy coverage with true-to-life illustrations and useful clinical examples Features fully revised and updated content throughout, including new non-binary information, equal coverage of male and female anatomy, and surface anatomy illustrations that reflect people of color. Integrates anatomy with current modes of imaging, clinical material, and surface anatomy. Includes a Conceptual Overview in each chapter that introduces readers to basic concepts of that region-now supplemented by additional simplified schematic diagrams for key structures. Incorporates superb artwork that includes select views from the wider Gray's family of texts. Contains updated classification of cranial nerves and new references to lymphatics associated with the central nervous system. Features outstanding electronic ancillaries, including a new bonus e-chapter on neuroanatomy essentials, an interactive surface anatomy tool, self-assessment questions, additional clinical and PT cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Mosby's 2023 Nursing Drug Reference by
Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for more than 35 years! Mosby's 2023 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including 35 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for 35 new FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Updates on drug therapies provide the most current information.
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 12th Edition Revised Reprint with 2021-2023 NANDA-I® Updates by
Get nursing care plans right! Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 12th Edition Revised Reprint with 2021-2023 NANDA-I© Updates helps you select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Revised and updated with 2021-2023 NANDA-I© approved nursing diagnoses, the book integrates NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to help you create unique, individualized care plans. Step-by-step instructions show how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. UNIQUE! Care plans are provided for NANDA-I© approved nursing diagnoses. Evidence-based interventions and rationales include recent or classic research and references supporting the use of each intervention. Examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes are presented in each care plan. 150 NCLEX® exam-style review questions are available on the Evolve website. Easy-to-follow Sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selection of appropriate nursing diagnoses. Clear, concise interventions are usually only a sentence or two long and use no more than two references. Safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care. List of NANDA-I© Diagnoses on the inside front cover of the book provides quick reference to page numbers. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Appendixes provide valuable information in an easy-to-access location. NEW! Comprehensive, up-to-date information is included on the new 2021-2023 NANDA-I© approved nursing diagnoses. NEW! Updated NIC/NOC, interventions, and rationales are provided for every care plan. NEW! Interventions reorganized by priority help you quickly identify the information you need. NEW! Section I: Gender identity discussion includes information about the caregiver's responsibility. NEW! Section II covers bullying, gender dysphoria, medical marijuana, military families/personnel, opioid use/abuse, service animals, technology addiction, and veterans. NEW! Concept map creator is added.
The Routledge Handbook of Public Health and the Community
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by
Understand and correctly use all the latest terminology in today's ever-evolving medical field with the 32nd Edition of the comprehensive, highly respected Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary! Thoroughly updated, this user-friendly reference-trusted for more than a century by healthcare personnel at every professional level-allows you to grasp the meanings of all medical terms in current usage. It delivers more total entries than in any other dictionary of its kind, including several thousand new words, as well as 500 new illustrations to aid your understanding. Plus, with the bonus CD-ROM, you can listen to 35,000 audio pronunciations! And you can consult the dictionary anytime, anywhere online with free access to www.Dorlands.com. Easily stay up with the changing terminology in your field by depending on Dorland's-the most reliable medical dictionary available today! Allows you to quickly grasp the meanings of medical terms in current usage, helping you understand and correctly use the latest terminology in today's ever-evolving medical field. Provides approximately 125,000 well-defined entries, 50 plates illustrating anatomy, and more than 1,500 clear, full-color illustrations. Features more than 6,000 new and revised terms and numerous new illustrations. Offers one year of free access to the complete content of Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary on DorlandsOnline.com, which includes 35,000 audio pronunciations and other bonus features. Ensures that you're up to date with anatomy terminology that reflects current Terminologia Anatomica standards. Make sure you're familiar with the very latest medical terms used today with more than 5,500 new entries drawn from current sources. Complement your understanding of new words and ideas in medicine with 500 new illustrations Get more information in a smaller amount of space as the revised entry format includes related parts of speech. Dorland's: The first and last word in medicine for over 110 years
A Dictionary of Nursing by
The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on radiography, public health and the NHS, theoretical conceptsfamiliar in nursing education, and key vocabulary used in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards of Proficiency for Registered Nurses.Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also manyentries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and muchmore, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by 
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by 
The Merck Index: an Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals by
The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It has been the leading source of information on chemical compounds for generations of scientists and professionals, selling over one million copies since its publication in 1889. The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact. The 15th edition, available from Royal Society of Chemistry publishing for the first time, is fully revised and updated and contains over 500 new monographs. Over 35% of the existing entries have been updated since the last edition, molecular weights have been recalculated with the latest IUPAC standards and there are revised periodic table and atomic weight tables. The Merck Index is an essential reference for all scholarly and professional chemists, biochemists, pharmacists and toxicologists and of interest to students, teachers, academic libraries, academic researchers, information professionals, solicitors, journalists and government agencies. *The name THE MERCK INDEX is owned by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Whitehouse Station, N.J., U.S.A., and is licensed to The Royal Society of Chemistry for use in the U.S.A. and Canada.
