Today's Hours |
The Production Manager's Toolkit by
The Production Manager's Toolkit Second Edition offers an up-to-date, comprehensive introduction to a career in theatrical and special event production for new and aspiring professionals, given by expert voices in the field. The book discusses management techniques, communication skills, and relationship building tactics to become effective and successful production managers. With a focus on management theory, top production managers provide insights into budgeting, scheduling, meetings, hiring, maintaining safety, and more. Through interviews and case studies, the techniques of production management are explored throughout a variety of entertainment genres including theatre, dance, opera, music, and special events. The second edition includes all new case studies, new chapters, and updated content throughout, showcasing a continued progressive approach to the job and the field.　 Filled with references, tools, templates, and checklists, The Production Manager's Toolkit is an invaluable resource for students in Production Management, Events Management, and Stage Management courses as well as new and aspiring professionals.　 The book includes access to a companion website featuring downloadable paperwork and links to other useful resources such as unions, venues, and vendors. (www.routledge.com/cw/gillett)
Introduction to Puppetry Arts by
Introduction to Puppetry Arts shares the history, cultures, and traditions surrounding the ancient performance art of puppetry, along with an overview of puppet construction and performance techniques used around the world. From its earliest beginnings in the ancient Middle East and Asia, through its representations in Medieval/Renaissance Europe, up until its modern-day appearances in theatre, television, and film, this book offers a thorough overview of how this fascinating art form originated and evolved. It also includes easy-to-follow instructions on how to create puppets for performance and display and an in-depth resource list and bibliography for further research and information. Written for students in puppetry arts and stagecraft courses, Introduction to Puppetry Arts offers a comprehensive look at this enduring craft and provides a starting point for creating a wide range of puppets, from marionettes and hand puppets to mascots and character costumes.
Acting the Basics by
Acting: The Basics 3rd Edition is a dynamic response to recent societal and entertainment industry changes, focusing on inclusion, diversity and equity, and the actor's trajectory from training to rehearsal to performance on stage and screen, with hands-on tools and global perspectives.
The book offers vital ways of building a practical acting toolkit, through breath, body, voice, emotions, imagination and spirit. We begin with a socio-cultural look at actor as magician, storyteller, healer and social changer. Throughout, there are insights from Black, Indigenous, First Nations, South/East Asian, intercultural and feminist practitioners, together with methods focusing on disability and accessibility, intimacy directives, mindfulness and intersectionality. Key 'canonical' figures still feature (e.g., Stanislavsky, Meisner, Brecht and Suzuki) with re-visioned perspective. Scattered throughout are post-COVID insights, plus expanded sections on screen acting (including self-tapes) and Shakespeare.
This book is useful for beginner or expert, as it's always helpful getting back to basics. Because the author is both an actor and an actor trainer, the tools are steeped in user-friendly application. At the same time, transferable skills (e.g., dynamic listening and empathy) are shown as relevant to everyone. With a glossary of terms and useful online suggestions (including blogs, videos and podcasts), this is ideal for anyone learn anew about the practice and history of acting, or to take their acting and teaching into new terrain.
This guide contains resources related to Theatre, including resources for practicing artists. This guide is meant to be a starting place for learning or research. Please get in touch if you need more help or have suggestions to improve this guide.
-Danielle
Email: Danielle.Chouinard@athens.edu
Phone: 256-216-6653
Interactive scripts, audio and video recordings of play productions, playwright biographies, and more. Our subscription includes the Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen collection.
This database provides a multidisciplinary eBook collection and focuses on business resources, performing arts and Nursing.
A streaming video collection that offers access to full-length and short films on any device.
Full-text articles from over 100 core scholarly journals in 25 academic disciplines, starting with the very first issues
A biographical & bibliographical guide to close to 150,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters current writers from around the world.
Formerly Literature Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, LitFinder, Scribner's Writers Series, & Twayne's Writer's Series.
